Dialogue and communication

How to help children understand irony and sarcasm little by little


Children's understanding of ironic comments depends on a number of factors, including the level of cognitive language development and skills called "mentalists." They need to acquire them to be able to interpret the double meanings, however, parents and teachers can help children understand irony and sarcasm little by little. In Guiainfantil.com We give you the keys to keep in mind.

To understand irony and sarcasm, it is necessary to interpret the interlocutor's intentions and words within a context, which requires a specific development of language and thought. It is because of that, at certain ages, children do not grasp double meanings, irony or sarcasm in language.

Nor do children and people with ASD (Autism Spectrum Disorder) or with language and communication disorders pick up on these "intentions" in language. Let's say you tend to make a literal interpretation of words without looking at the facial expression and intonation of the person speaking.

To help children understand irony and sarcasm, we must first know what each of them means and implies. So:

- The irony
It is an expression that implies something contrary to what it is really intended to say, usually as a mockery in disguise.

- The sarcasm
According to the Dictionary of the Royal Spanish Academy (RAE), sarcasm is the "bloody mockery, scathing and cruel irony with which someone or something is offended or mistreated." In short, sarcasm seeks to ridicule, humiliate or insult the other person through irony.

For children to understand and recognize irony and sarcasm, certain language and thinking skills must be developed, such as pragmatics and mental skills. We analyze each of them:

- Pragmatics
Pragmatics is an indispensable skill for interpersonal communication, not only for the speaker but also for the listener. Marc Monfort, defines this ability as "the ability to understand the intentions of others when they speak and to express their own, in an effective way and with a management of the code appropriate to the context".

- Mentalist abilities
Mentalist abilities, on the other hand, form a conceptual system that will serve to understand, interpret, predict and be able to explain both one's own behavior and that of others. Such ability would be a prerequisite for understanding the social environment and being socially competent.

To detect and understand sarcasm, as in irony, you must also understand the intentions of the interlocutor within a specific context. This task requires the use of sophisticated social thinking and theory of mind.

Mentalistic and pragmatic skills they develop little by little in children. It is after approximately 5 years when children are able to identify lies, ironies and jokes, but it does not mean that all children understand them or that at this age they are fully developed. These skills improve over the years.

Since not all children grasp irony and sarcasm, we must be cautious with its use in children, for several reasons. On the one hand, we can hurt children's feelings and self-esteem. On the other, we provide a model of communication and relationship with others based on mockery and masking of what we really want to say. Using irony and sarcasm is not bad, but since not all children pick up on these nuances, we can baffle them and even hurt feelings.

Parents and teachers can teach and stimulate in children the skills they need to improve their understanding of language. For children to catch irony and sarcasm will be important:

1. That they understand the opposite concept.

2. Explain what irony and sarcasm consist of, give them examples and make them explicit on a day-to-day basis. If, for example, we drink something that we do not like as a medicine and we say ... "mmmm that delicious" and we accompany it with a facial expression of displeasure, we can help children understand that we say it with irony.

3. Explain that sometimes ironies can be hurtful for the other person, so you have to know when it is appropriate to say them.

4. Also work the idea of ‚Äč‚Äčlies and white lies.

5. Learn to recognize when they say an irony with humor or with bad intention.

In short, to understand irony and sarcasm on the part of children, it will be necessary that they have acquired adequate development of certain language and thinking skills. Therefore, on the one hand, we must be cautious with its use in children, since they do not always understand it and we can hurt their feelings. But, on the other hand, we can little by little teach how to differentiate and distinguish the ironies in their day-to-day lives.

You can read more articles similar to How to help children understand irony and sarcasm little by little, in the category of Dialogue and communication on site.


Video: How NOT to sexually harass someone. The Mash Report - BBC (June 2021).

Dialog und Kommunikation

Wie man Kindern hilft, nach und nach Ironie und Sarkasmus zu verstehen


Das Verständnis der Kinder für ironische Kommentare hängt von mehreren Faktoren ab, einschließlich des Entwicklungsniveaus der kognitiven Sprache und der Fähigkeiten, die als "Mentalisten" bezeichnet werden. Sie müssen sie erwerben, um die Doppelbedeutungen interpretieren zu können, Eltern und Lehrer jedoch helfen Sie Kindern, Ironie und Sarkasmus nach und nach zu verstehen. Im Guiainfantil.com Wir geben Ihnen die Schlüssel, die Sie beachten sollten.

Um Ironie und Sarkasmus zu verstehen, ist es notwendig, die Absichten und Worte des Gesprächspartners in einem Kontext zu interpretieren, der eine spezifische Entwicklung von Sprache und Denken erfordert. Es ist deswegen, In bestimmten Altersstufen verstehen Kinder keine doppelte Bedeutung. Ironie oder Sarkasmus in der Sprache.

Auch Kinder und Menschen mit ASD (Autism Spectrum Disorder) oder mit Sprach- und Kommunikationsstörungen greifen diese "Absichten" in der Sprache nicht auf. Angenommen, Sie tendieren dazu, Wörter wörtlich zu interpretieren, ohne auf den Gesichtsausdruck und die Intonation der sprechenden Person zu achten.

Um Kindern zu helfen, Ironie und Sarkasmus zu verstehen, müssen wir zuerst wissen, was jeder von ihnen bedeutet und impliziert. So:

- Die Ironie
Es ist ein Ausdruck, der etwas impliziert, das dem widerspricht, was er wirklich sagen soll, normalerweise als Spott in Verkleidung.

- Der Sarkasmus
Nach dem Wörterbuch der Royal Spanish Academy (RAE) ist Sarkasmus der "blutige Spott, die vernichtende und grausame Ironie, mit der jemand oder etwas beleidigt oder misshandelt wird". Kurz gesagt, Sarkasmus versucht, die andere Person durch Ironie zu verspotten, zu demütigen oder zu beleidigen.

Damit Kinder Ironie und Sarkasmus verstehen und erkennen können, müssen bestimmte Sprach- und Denkfähigkeiten wie Pragmatik und mentale Fähigkeiten entwickelt werden. Wir analysieren jeden von ihnen:

- Pragmatik
Pragmatik ist eine unverzichtbare Fähigkeit für die zwischenmenschliche Kommunikation, nicht nur für den Sprecher, sondern auch für den Hörer. Marc Monfort definiert diese Fähigkeit als "die Fähigkeit, die Absichten anderer zu verstehen, wenn sie sprechen, und ihre eigenen auf effektive Weise und mit einer dem Kontext entsprechenden Verwaltung des Codes auszudrücken".

- Mentalistische Fähigkeiten
Mentalistische Fähigkeiten bilden andererseits ein konzeptionelles System, das dazu dient, das eigene Verhalten und das anderer zu verstehen, zu interpretieren, vorherzusagen und erklären zu können. Eine solche Fähigkeit wäre eine Voraussetzung für das Verständnis des sozialen Umfelds und für die soziale Kompetenz.

Um Sarkasmus wie in der Ironie zu erkennen und zu verstehen, müssen Sie auch die Absichten des Gesprächspartners in einem bestimmten Kontext verstehen. Diese Aufgabe erfordert den Einsatz von ausgefeiltem sozialem Denken und Theorie des Geistes.

Mentalistische und pragmatische Fähigkeiten Sie entwickeln sich nach und nach bei Kindern. Es ist ungefähr 5 Jahre her, in denen Kinder Lügen, Ironien und Witze erkennen können, aber das bedeutet nicht, dass alle Kinder sie verstehen oder dass sie in diesem Alter voll entwickelt sind. Diese Fähigkeiten verbessern sich im Laufe der Jahre.

Da nicht alle Kinder Ironie und Sarkasmus begreifen, Wir müssen bei der Anwendung bei Kindern vorsichtig sein, aus verschiedenen Gründen. Einerseits können wir die Gefühle und das Selbstwertgefühl von Kindern verletzen. Auf der anderen Seite bieten wir ein Modell für Kommunikation und Beziehung mit anderen, das auf Spott und Maskierung dessen basiert, was wir wirklich sagen wollen. Ironie und Sarkasmus zu verwenden ist nicht schlecht, aber da nicht alle Kinder diese Nuancen aufgreifen, wir können sie verblüffen und sogar Gefühle verletzen.

Eltern und Lehrer können Kindern die Fähigkeiten beibringen und fördern, die sie benötigen, um ihr Sprachverständnis zu verbessern. Für Kinder ist es wichtig, Ironie und Sarkasmus zu spüren:

1. Dass sie verstehen das entgegengesetzte Konzept.

2. Erklären Sie, woraus Ironie und Sarkasmus bestehen, geben Sie ihnen Beispiele und Machen Sie sie täglich deutlich. Wenn wir zum Beispiel etwas trinken, das wir als Medizin nicht mögen, und wir sagen ... "mmmm so lecker" und wir begleiten es mit einem Gesichtsausdruck des Missfallen, können wir Kindern helfen zu verstehen, dass wir es mit Ironie sagen.

3. Erklären Sie das manchmal Ironien können verletzend sein für die andere Person muss man also wissen, wann es angebracht ist, sie zu sagen.

4. Arbeiten Sie auch die Idee der Lüge und Notlügen.

5. Lernen Sie zu erkennen, wenn sie eine Ironie mit Humor oder sagen mit schlechter Absicht.

Kurz gesagt, um die Ironie und den Sarkasmus der Kinder zu verstehen, müssen sie bestimmte Sprach- und Denkfähigkeiten angemessen entwickelt haben. Daher müssen wir einerseits vorsichtig mit der Anwendung bei Kindern sein, da sie es nicht immer verstehen und wir ihre Gefühle verletzen können. Andererseits können wir nach und nach lehren, wie man die Ironien in ihrem täglichen Leben unterscheidet und unterscheidet.

Sie können weitere Artikel ähnlich wie lesen Wie man Kindern hilft, nach und nach Ironie und Sarkasmus zu verstehen, in der Kategorie Dialog und Kommunikation vor Ort.

Video: ANZIEHUNG UND VERTRAUEN - DAS MUSST DU DARÜBER WISSEN! (September 2020).